Best coffee in town: my top 5 cafés in Helsinki

Helsinki is a great place for coffee lovers – when you know where to go. I’ll reveal you my absolutely favorite cafés in town, places that offer excellent coffee and other delicacies in a nice cosy atmosphere.

1. Sävy, Aleksis Kiven katu 12

This is a place where I feel at home. Here not just the owners Kaisa and Mikko know me, but also some of the regulars – what I love. The sound of an old tram ticket stamping machine reminds me of my childhood. Here the machine stamps coffee tickets, and also I have my own ticket for 10 caffe lattes. Tasty caffe latte and a fresh recently baked croissant guarantee a great start for a day!

Sävy

Kaisa behind the bar at Sävy

Sävy

Kahvila Sävy Coffee Bar

2. Fratello and La Torrefazione

These two places are located in the very center of Helsinki, both along Aleksanterinkatu, one of the main shopping streets. La Torrefazione is a tiny café in second floor with big windows that allow you to observe the life on Aleksanterinkatu. Recently I frequent Fratello much more as there are no stairs and there is place for buggies as well. Fratello is maybe the only café located in a shopping centre that I truly like. Last autumn when I worked in the neighborhood I used to go there daily to get my afternoon coffee, so also here the personnel know me and my take away cup.

Fratello

Fratello “Our barista on duty”

Fratello

Fratello at Kluuvi

3. Johan & Nyström, Kanavaranta 7 C

Red brick walls, colorful cushions and smell of coffee invites you in to this gorgeous café. Johan & Nyström is actually a Swedish coffee chain, but they have also this one concept store and café in Finland thanks to a one single man, Pasi Kokko, who decided to keep the place running. I have to admit that he has done excellent job. Pasi has combined in the place coffees and teas of Johan & Nyström to sweet but healthy raw cakes. Pasi is really the heart of the place, who likes to chat with the customers.

Johan & Nyström

Johan & Nyström’s terrace

Johan & Nyström café

Johan & Nyström café

4. Good Life Coffee, Kolmas Linja 17

This tiny café feels like a living room. Almost every time I go there I run into my sister or some friends and often I end up talking with the other clients as well. Coffee in Good Life Coffee is simply good. Thanks to the big window you may frequent the place also with a small baby, as you can leave the baby sleeping peacefully in a buggy outdoors (yes, this is something we actually do here in Finland). Recently the owner Lauri Pipinen opened another, even smaller café at Vilhonvuorenkatu 7-9.

Good Life Coffee at Kolmas Linja 17

Good Life Coffee at Kolmas Linja 17

Good Life Coffee

Good Life Coffee in Vilhonvuorenkatu 7-9

5. Moko Café Sörnäinen, Vilhonvuorenkatu 11

Moko Café Sörnäinen surprisingly ended up on my top 5 thanks to the great location, beautiful interiors, tasty salads and lovely raw porridge – and as it is accessible whit a buggy, or two. Their coffee is also good, even though it doesn’t reach the same level as the coffee offered in the other places mentioned above. Moko is a combination of an interior design store and a café, and the atmosphere is very charming and truly tempting.

Moko

Moko Café Sörnäinen

Moko

Moko Café Sörnäinen

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Polar bears and a beast at Katajanokka | HelsinkiFeelings

  2. I haven’t been to any of these. Bookmarked!

    • Check out also The Exhibitionists and Freese Coffee! There are actually so many good coffee places in Helsinki today. New ones coming all the time, which is just great.

Leave a Reply

