Dolls and Toys at Porvoo

Porvoo Toy Museum

Porvoo, this little city at 50 km from Helsinki has a hidden treasure in one of the old wooden warehouses by the river: Doll and Toy Museum of Porvoo. The place is amazing in many ways. First of all it has a fabulous collection of all kind of toys, second for its extraordinary location, third for the low entrance fees (3 € for adults and 2 € for children) and fourth for their incredibly old-fashioned webpages. The only bad thing, is that it is open only during the summer season, so if you wish to visit the place still this year, hurry up as it is open only until 17.8.!

Porvoo Toy Museum

It had passed over 15 years since my last visit, but this time I wanted to share this secret with my three year old. We had great time exploring at the museum and looking for familiar toys. In fact we found 5 tin toys that either my sister or I still have that our father used to play with in his childhood in 1950’s or early 1960’s. There is so much to see, that I could easily spend hours in the museum. But hey, maybe next summer all the four of us will visit it again!

Porvoo Toy Museum Porvoo Toy Museum Porvoo Toy Museum

3 comments

  1. What a great place to visit. I have a doll that is about 90 years old. She belonged to my aunt and my mother.

Leave a Reply

