Alight cathedral

Last Sunday we saw the sun! I had been sick at home for three days and I needed to get out to the sun and see the sea. So I head to the city center to feel the freezing sea breeze. And I just couldn’t pass the Lutheran Cathedral without greeting this old friend of mine. I’m not very religious person, but I have a strong connection to this building designed by Carl Ludvig Engel. This white church is a landmark of Helsinki, it shapes my town’s silhouette, lightens it up and greets everyone with a bold but friendly nod. It tells a story of a respect. The Lutheran Cathedral was built during the time when Finland was an autonomous part of the orthodox Russian Empire. To show respect towards the Finns and their Swedish cultural background, the Russian tzar constructed the Lutheran cathedral before the Orthodox one.

Lutheran Cathedral, Helsinki Lutheran Cathedral, Helsinki Lutheran Cathedral, Helsinki Lutheran Cathedral, Helsinki Lutheran Cathedral, Helsinki

2 comments

  1. suzan

    I enjoy your posts a lot. Especially the ones about the attractive city spots. I am still an outsider to the city. I am writing them to my list that I prepare for my guests visiting me here. Reading the feelings of the “local”s about the city is really valuable for me.

    • Thank you Suzan so much for your kind words! I think that is one of the reasons why I keep my blog – to share the best places of Helsinki with others.

Leave a Reply

