Enjoying Easter!

Easter 2015

It is Easter again! Thanks to my kids I have learnt to enjoy the holidays more and more. I love the Finnish traditions – especially the one on Palm Sunday when children dress up as witches and go door to door blessing homes with willow twigs (yes, a very pagan tradition). Actually these days they don’t dress up only as witches  anymore but also as cats, bunnies and ghosts, and I even saw one Easter panda this year. My older one is already so big that he was also a great help at decorating the twigs. This year he had learnt the whole traditional rhyme by heart: Virvon, varvon, tuoreeks terveeks, tulevaks vuodeks, vitsa sulle, palkka mulle! (in English: I wave a twig for a fresh and healthy year ahead; a twig for you, a treat for me!) Meanwhile my little one was just a cute sidekick enthusiastic about climbing up and down the stairs.

See also my post on Easter 2013!   Easter 2015Easter 2015 Easter 2015

Leave a Reply

