More good coffee in Helsinki – El Fant and Mood Coffee Roastery

The coffee scene in Helsinki is evolving all the time and new lovely, personal cafés keep opening their doors. I want to share my latest discoveries with you! The very first one (that has already turned into my second office) is El Fant and the other one is Mood Coffee that I visited today for the first time. Also a map called Helsinki Coffee Guide (#helsinkicoffeeguide) was printed this spring, and when you manage to get one of those in your hands – you have the keys to the local coffee heaven! Also El Fant and Mood Coffee are listed in the map.

ElFant_1 ElFant_2

1. El Fant

New Helsinki City Museum  (later more about it) opened to public on Friday 13th of May 2016 in the oldest building of the city of Helsinki. El Fant is the official museum café, but as it has a separate entrance from Katariinankatu 3 it is a popular place also for other than museum visitors. The owners of the place are Aleksi and  Sanni, who also own Kahvila Sävy. El Fant is a bit more elegant version of its bohemian sister Sävy. Both of the places offer excellent coffee (also the best coffee barista of Finland 2016, Jarno Peräkylä, works in both of the cafés!) and soooo good breakfast (I love El Fant’s home made jam!), but in the evening in El Fant, you can also enjoy a glass of top wine, like Basque Txakoli!
MoodCoffee_2MoodCoffee_12. Mood Coffee Roastery

Today I popped into the Moode Coffee Roastery at Tarkk’ampujankatu 4 for the first time. I had noticed from the Helsinki Coffee Guide that there is a new high quality café in town, and of course, I had to check it out. The place is small with big windows and very simple and edgy interiors. Still the atmosphere was very relaxed as the music was playing loud and the barista chatted with the customers. He also asked what kind of latte art figure I wanted on the top of my coffee. So I ended up drinking my very first swan latte! The place is all about coffee – besides that you get only some juices, teas and a bite of little something. But the coffee was good, real good.

1 comments

  1. Pingback: Helsinki City Museum, a place to stay and play at | HelsinkiFeelings

Leave a comment